Drivers in Virginia are continuing to be charged and convicted of the offense of driving without proof of insurance; one that is not a crime under current state laws.
A recent article in the Virginia Lawyers Weekly discussed how current laws in Virginia do not even require a driver to have insurance. Owners may opt to pay a $500 uninsured motor vehicle fee to the Department of Motor Vehicles. If they fail to do both, then they may face a $500 fine.
It points out that drivers, along with officers are often misinformed about the law. A lawyer who was charged for not carrying an insurance card is fighting the charge in Sussex County and is awaiting a judge’s ruling on the outcome.
If you are charged with a crime, you need an aggressive, experienced attorney who can fight for you. Contact the Law Offices of Patrick N. Anderson and Associates for a free, initial consultation.