A new law took effect last month and will affect all drivers convicted of drunk driving in Virginia.
The new state law requires all first-time offenders who have a blood alcohol level of more than .08 to have an ignition interlock device installed in their primary vehicle. Before the law took effect, only drivers with a blood-alcohol content of 0.15 percent or higher, or repeat offenders were required to install the device.
Approximately 4,500 ignition interlock devices were installed in vehicles prior to July 1, 2012, but that is expected to rise to about 20,000 devices with the new law in place.
Some opponents of the new law argue the involvement of manufacturers of the devices. A minimum six months of using the device is estimated to cost just less than $500. Opponents have also argued about the severity of the new law, saying that the elimination of judicial discretion to waive the requirement as well as the requirement that all first-time offenders utilize the devices are too harsh and strict.
If you are facing criminal charges in Virginia, it is imperative to discuss your situation with an experienced attorney who can discuss your case with you and help map out your options. Call today for your free, initial consultation.