Any driver caught driving on a suspended or revoked license may face charges. Anyone caught three or more times will receive a mandatory jail sentence. For each suspension or revocation, a driver’s license will be revoked or suspended for an additional period of time. A driver facing these charges needs to seek counsel from a qualified criminal attorney.
A driver who is a nonresident of Virginia, even if they have never been legally licensed in the state, may lose their right to drive with a suspension or revocation. This may happen for any out-of -state driver who fails to Virginia pay a ticket before the deadline passes or who has other violations.
In Virginia, driving on a revoked or suspended license is a class 1 misdemeanor. A driver facing this charge may receive up to one year in jail, $2,500 in fines as well as a suspension of license. Additionally, driving without a license is considered a class 2 misdemeanor and carries a maximum of six months in jail and a $1,000 in fines.
In order for the charge to stand, Virginia must show the defendant had notice of the original suspension or revocation.